Government Agencies

Gayville Fire & Rescue

The Gayville Fire & Rescue Department proudly serves the Town of Gayville. The department is located on Meckling Street, West of the bank. The fire department responds to over 35 calls each year which includes fires, motor vehicle accidents, and other emergencies in their protection district. Gayville's protection district includes the Town of Gayville, Township of Gayville, a portion of Volin's Township, and a portion of Clay County for fire & rescue. They also serve the town of Mission Hill and a portion of Mission Hill Township for first responder calls.

Number to contact in case of an emergency: 911
Number for non-emergency: (605) 668-3567
Gayville Fire Department
404 Meckling Street, PO Box 163
Gayville, SD 57031

The Members

David Rabe- Serving Since 1997 (Chief)

Nick Huber- Serving Since 2007 (Asst. Chief)

Josh Fox- Serving Since 2002 (Asst. Chief)

Cas Rabe- Serving Since 2000
Jon Rolfs- Serving Since 2000
Sharon Rolfs- Serving Since 2001
Joe Hoffman- Serving Since 2004
Kent Buckman- Serving Since 2005
Randy Thygeson- Serving Since 2009
Bill Clark- Serving Since 2010
Lisa Rolfs- Serving Since 2011
Brandon VanOsdel- Serving Since 2012
Terry Rye- Serving Since 2012
Chris Hibbs- Serving Since 2012
Josh Lauck- Serving Since 2014
Ryan Williams- Serving Since 2014
Alan Moehring- Serving Since 2015
Tom Kruse- Serving Since 2016
Dawn Sawtell- Serving Since 2016
Nick Wuebben- Serving Since 2017
Dustin Tesky- Serving Since 2020
Chris Sawtell- Serving Since 2021
Curtis Folkers- Serving Since 2022
Mike kuchta- Serving Since 2023
Gayville Fire & Rescue

2nd Monday/Month
4th Monday/Month
*Starts At 7pm
Have A Working Smoke Detector!

*Make a routine to check your smoke detector and change the batteries.

For Your Safety!

*Equip your home with a fire extinguisher. Have one near the kitchen, furnace, & garage.


Volunteer Fire Department


On Call 24/7

Fire Department Vehicles
Post Office
Yankton County